Feast of Saint Stephen, first martyr

182

“Be my rock of refuge,
a stronghold to give me safety.
You are my rock and my fortress;
for your name’s sake you will lead and guide me.” Ps 31:4

On this feast of St. Stephen, we are reminded that this journey of life is not always easy.  There is sickness and death, betrayal and mistrust, hatred and evil that surrounds us.  There are times when we are called to stand up for gospel values which may not be popular…with family, friends, acquaintances, etc.  This is the cost of discipleship.

However, as Psalm 31 one proclaims, God will be by our side no matter what awaits us in this life.  God is our rock, our stronghold if we put our trust in Him.  God will lead and guide us on our journey, helping us to make good decisions, say the “right” words.

As we look forward to a new year, where in your life do you need to invite the Lord to be your rock and your stronghold, your fortress?  Are there situations in your life that you need some insight as to what to do or say? Do you need strength and courage to do what you know is right?

Lord, I ask that you send forth your Spirit upon me.  Help me to recognize your presence this day and to know that you are my rock, my stronghold.  Give me the strength I need right now to follow in your way.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

