Advent Reflection – Day 24

“My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord;
my spirit rejoices in God my savior.
for he has looked upon his lowly servant.
From this day all generations will call me blessed:
the Almighty has done great things for me,
and holy is his Name.
He has mercy on those who fear him
in every generation.” – Lk 1:46-50

These wonderful words of Mary remind us that everything is about God and not us.    Her attitude is to recognize that the blessings she has received comes from God.  It is through God’s mercy that we are truly blessed.  This reminds me of the words of Jesus in the gospel of John: “You have not chosen me, it is I who have chosen you…” – Jn 15:16

It is difficult to remember that it is God who has chosen me.  It is God who has created me, not I who have created me.  It is God who gives me each breath I take.

To be chosen…what is that like.  I recall in my youth we would play baseball and since everyone just showed up we had to pick players to be on each side.  There would be two captains and they would then alternately select players for their team until all who had come were selected.  Since everyone knew who the best players were, they were the ones chosen first and then the lesser players, third, and so on.  How humiliating to the person who was not chosen first off, but often had to wait his or her turn to be selected and was not chosen second, third, fourth…until the very end.  It is as though he or she was the left over, selected because there was no one else.

This is not how God chooses us.  We are not leftovers, but uniquely chosen.  We are loved into being with God’s intent on exactly who we are to be.  We are to have this exact body, mind and spirit – no one else is like us or will ever be.  We have been chosen by God.

Our task is to discover this unique self created by God.  It is a partnership of discovery between God and us.  We call it discovering our vocation – our calling.  It is what God has intended from the very beginning who we are to become.  Who we have been chosen to be.

Lord, help us to be thankful as Mary in being the person you have made us to be.  For we are wonderfully and beautifully made in your image.  As we continue to prepare for your coming may we let your light shine through our very being. Amen

Leave a Reply

