Advent Reflection – Day 16-Memorial of St. John of the Cross

126

Responsorial Psalm – PS 25:4-5AB, 6 AND 7BC, 8-9

R. (4) Teach me your ways, O Lord.
Your ways, O LORD, make known to me;
teach me your paths,
Guide me in your truth and teach me,
for you are God my savior.
R. Teach me your ways, O Lord.
Remember that your compassion, O LORD,
and your kindness are from of old.
In your kindness remember me,
because of your goodness, O LORD.
R. Teach me your ways, O Lord.
Good and upright is the LORD;
thus he shows sinners the way.
He guides the humble to justice,
he teaches the humble his way.
R. Teach me your ways, O Lord.

Teach my your ways, O Lord is certainly the prayer of those who wish to journey with God in this life.  And it is truly God who ultimately we desire to lead us on our way.  God has also blessed us with persons (saints) who can help to point us in the right direction.

St. John of the Cross is one of those persons.  Through his writings, he gives some practical suggestions on how we can learn to open ourselves to God.  He suggests that we learn to “let go.” He calls them the “dark night” and there are three of them – the dark night of the senses, the dark night of the spirit, and finally the dark night of divine union.  The goal of these is best described as: God is not one of many things but rather the ground of all things.  God fills my whole being.

Lord, as we await your coming this Advent season, help us to draw closer to you, to let go of anything that keeps us from you, and to welcome Christ in all whom we meet this day.  Amen.
Leave a Reply

