Advent Reflection – Day 11

 

Image result for trusting another person

Jesus said to the crowds:
“Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened,
and I will give you rest.
Take my yoke upon you and learn from me,
for I am meek and humble of heart;
and you will find rest for yourselves.
For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”

                                                                       – Mk 11:28-30

What is Jesus saying?  If I follow Jesus I won’t have to work anymore?  I can sleep in and not have to rush off to work?  Though that may sound great, I don’t believe that is what Jesus was trying to say.  I think he was leading people to a deeper understanding of where true security and happiness lay.  It’s not in trying to earn more power or money, to gain more and more stuff, to rise the ladder of success and esteem.  All this is “about me”!  And that takes A LOT OF WORK.

Jesus, in these words today, invites us to place our trust in him and not in ourselves.  If we do so, “you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy and my burden light.”

Lord, as I begin this day, help me place my burdens in your hands.  To come to know that my true security and happiness lay with you.

Photo from Google Images

Leave a Reply

