Advent Reflection – Day 4

 

Scripture:  “The Lord is my Shepherd there is nothing I shall want.” (Psalm 23)

 

Trust is the issue.

So often I believe that I have a great plan.  If things would just work out as I image, all would be great.  And all would be well with the world, my community, my family, and, of course, myself.  Experience has shown, however, my plans are usually found lacking in some way.  My perspective is not expansive enough to include all things.  Like the disciples, who were not able to imagine that enough food could be made available to feed all those folks who had come to hear Jesus.  That’s my problem as well.  There are things that can happen which I can’t even imagine.

I love the picture above.  This young girl hanging on to her brother.  She knows that he will get her where she needs to be.  There is a trust and confidence she has.

So, the question is: Do we REALLY trust that God has a better plan I do?

The readings suggest to us today that indeed God has a great plan.  In this plan God will provide everything that we need or desire.  It is beyond our imagining if only we trust in God.  What would you like to bring to the Lord today?  Where do you need to place your trust in Him?

Lord our God, grant that we may be ready to receive Christ when he comes in glory and to share in the banquet of heaven, where he lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever.

Leave a Reply

